a busybusy day. someone's gonna sleep heavy tonight! oh, I'm such a forty year old..
 
okay. first we, me and four germans + our guide, went to the carlton centre which is the highest building in Africa (223 metres) and has a 360° panorama view of Johannesburg. amaaaazing! and I even managed to upload some photos (wooho!). crappy quality though,(from maa phone) but hey, they are still photos!
 
 
and theeen, SOWETO. you know it, right? if you don't, probably check it up! haha. anywayyys, so we went to one of the poor areas there and a sowetian (or what ever people living there might be called) showed us around and we visited a woman and her house. don't have any photos of that on my phoneee. but it was poor. like really poor. and yet I didn't feel sad or anything. think it might be because it's pretty tiring feeling sad all the frikkin' time and I just left Tanzania. does that even make any sense? I know it does in my head.

next stop: mandela house. a bit restored of course, you know shooting and fire outbreaks and stuff, those things are not very good for a house. pretty cool going there though. a lot of letters and quotes from his family (and him) about how it was living there, with a constant fear of shootings and of being abducted. and despite that, mandela was still relieved going back there when he got out of prison. I guess that makes sense. maybe. yeah, I think it does...
 
 
and then it was the hector pieterson museum. hector pieterson - the first boy that got killed in the soweto uprising. 13 years old, he was. when walking in the demonstration, protesting against the bantu schoolsystem, a policeman shot him down. and so he became one of the main icons of the walk on the 16th of June, 1976 in which between ten and twenty thousands schoolkids participated. sorry about my messy writing. but ehm yeah, I'm tired?
 
 
then finally we drove our little car (wearing a seatbelt for the first time in three months, sorry maaa) to the apartheid museum. and it was amazing and sad and capturing and depressing and inspiring, all at once. I don't know what else to say about it, except: seeing all the "white-only" signs, reading all the stories and seeing all the photos - that's a little overwhelming. oh, and the museum is HUGE! it took me about three hours to get through it, but then I'm a bit of a geek. meaning I read almost every single sign and story. haha. that might be why my head is so thick now.
 
some of the stuuupid signs. bläää
 
he's such an inspiring humanbeing. everything he's been through and he never stopped. yeah. I like him.
and if this post made you sad or bored or happy or just nothing at all. weeell, then you should listen to this one. cus that's what I did and everybody must do what I do! iiih. nah, but I already miss this music...
 
okay. that's it. now I'm done. take care!
 
xxx
apartheid museum, carlton centre, hector pieterson, hector pieterson museum, highest building in africa, mandela, mandela house, nelson mandela, soweto, top of africa, tour of johannesburg,

Kommentera

Publiceras ej