actually, I just came back from Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, but let's start from the beginning so it all makes sense.
 
Lusaka is a city with a thousand faces. so far I've seen: chaos, how crowded it is - people everywhere and constant traffic jam, the stress-free life and attitude, the dusty part, green sceneries, homeless people washing themselves in rainwater, rich people with fancy gardens. 
 
 
I love Africa, I really do. but gosh, sometimes I find it very very hard being here - being white here. I've never felt as different or segregated or whatever before, as I do when I'm in Lusaka. especially when I'm walking with Bwire. a black guy walking with a white girl?! OHMEGOD. honestly, that's the reactions you get. just walking down the streets you get tons of comments and glares. 
 
the men give him respect and greetings - the men stare at my body and see me as a rich piece of..something, the women either admire him or see him as a dog - the women stare me down from top to toe and look down on me. YEEY! it gets kinda tiresome, so I've chosen not to care and just walk on proudly knowing that everyone is looking at me. obviously, black-white friendship, especially the one between a guy and a girl, is not easy here. anyway, it will make the stay in Arusha/Moshi seem like nothing. hah. Livingstone was a great break from that as well. oh, and I have to say that not every single person I meet act like this, especially not the people that I meet through my friend. it's as if when someone knows that whitey it's a totally different thing. 
 
 
                                               Cairo Road, the main road in Lusaka. 
 
oh, and people try to fool me all the time. or ask for money. the price of the bus changes every time I use it, the taxi drivers always make you pay too much - which has led to e walking instead of taking a taxi home even though it's dark outside (sorry mum). hah, but I'm too stubborn and not dumb enough to pay too much and when one taxi driver ask for that price all of the others ask for it to, as a principle (but I am dumb enough to walk outside in the evening...)
 
it's rain season here now and the draining system in Lusaka is close to non-existent. meaning the roads get swamped. people build temporary bridges out of stone blocks and then make others pay to cross on the bridge. haha. it's insane. 
 
okaay. that's it for now. 
 
puss! xxx
 
africa, afrika, lusaka, zambia,

Kommentera

Publiceras ej